Types Of Non-Resident Accounts

  1. Non-Resident Foreign Currency accounts
  2. Non-Resident Non-Transferable Birr accounts
  3. Non-Resident Transferable Birr account
  • These accounts are opened for those organizations and individuals who are permitted to open NR – FCY account.
  • (Opening criteria and procedure are the same as that of NR – FCY account)
  • The balances of these accounts are expressed in Birr.
  • Transfers from these accounts are exempted from the exchange commission.
  • As the name itself indicates the balance of these accounts can be converted or transferred abroad or to NR – FCY account without prior approval of NBE.


  • Diplomatic mission offices
  • Diplomatic mission staffs (except for Ethiopian nationals)
  • Members of the International Community
  • International organizations and their organs